## **Oregon Calculated Recovery Rates by Wasteshed**

A "wasteshed" is defined in Oregon law as being an area of the state that shares a common solid waste disposal system, or an appropriate area in which to develop a common recycling system. For the most part, individual Oregon counties are designated as wastesheds. Three exceptions are that:

• The greater Portland tri-county area, consisting of Clackamas, Multnomah and Washington Counties, is designated as the Metro wasteshed.

• Milton-Freewater, a city within Umatilla County, is designated as a separate wasteshed.

• For most cities such as Albany that have populations in two counties, the entire city was included in the wasteshed that included the larger portion of the city population. The exception is Salem, where most of Salem is in the Marion Wasteshed, but West Salem is included in the Polk Wasteshed.

Wasteshed	2021 Rate	2022 Rate		Wasteshed Representative Contact	
				•	
Baker	19.1%	18.5%	Bruce Nichols	Baker County Commission Chair	541-524-2040
Benton	34.4%	31.5%		Benton County Community Development	541-766-6841
Clatsop	31.2%	32.5%		Clatsop County Public Health	503-338-3687
Columbia	24.3%	22.2%		Columbia County Public Works	503-397-7259
Coos	21.0%	23.5%		Coos County Solid Waste Department	541-396-7660
Crook	22.1%	28.9%		Crook County Commission	541-447-6555
Curry	20.3%	21.2%		Curry County	541-247-3296
Deschutes	28.4%	27.2%		Deschutes County Solid Waste Department	541-317-3163
Douglas	27.8%	19.7%		Douglas County Solid Waste	541-430-2135
Gilliam	13.2%	20.7%		Gilliam County Court	541-384-2381
Grant	17.4%	17.2%		Grant County Court	541-575-0059
Harney	19.2%	17.1%		Harney County Court	541-573-6356
Hood River	23.4%	25.8%		Hood River County Health Department	541-387-7129
Jackson	19.1%	32.7%		Jackson County	541-774-6007
Jefferson	20.0%	24.1%	Matt Powlison	Jefferson County Public Works Department	541-475-4459
Josephine	31.6%	28.6%		Josephine County Public Works	541-474-5460
Klamath	19.4%	21.0%	Tom Crist	Klamath County - Solid Waste Management	541-883-4294
Lake	9.0%	9.8%		Lake County Landfill	541-947-1255
Lane	49.7%	52.9%	Angie Marzano	Lane County PW - Waste Management Division	541-682-6536
Lincoln	28.0%	30.9%	Paul Seitz	Lincoln County Solid Waste District	541-574-1285
Linn	40.1%	44.3%	Nate Tisdell	Linn County Environmental Health Department	541-967-3821 x2371
Malheur	20.9%	21.1%	Kelly Friend	Malheur County Environmental Health	541-473-5186
Marion	**40.6%	**46.7%	Brian May	Marion County Environmental Services	503-365-3147
Metro	44.2%	43.9%	Warren Johnson	METRO	503-797-1836
Milton-Freewater	29.7%	19.1%		Public Works Department	541-938-8274
Morrow	16.2%	17.5%	Eric Imes	Morrow County Public Works Department	541-989-9500
Polk	39.4%	38.5%		Polk County	503-623-9237
Sherman	26.7%	23.4%	Joe Dabulskis	Sherman County Judge/Commissioners	541-565-3416
Tillamook	32.9%	27.4%	Justin Weiss	Tillamook County Public Works	503-368-7764
Umatilla	31.2%	20.5%		Umatilla County Planning Department	541-278-6300
Union	25.8%	27.3%		Union County Planning Department	541-963-1014
Wallowa	28.4%	24.8%	Ed Gomes	Wallowa County Public Works Department	541-426-3332
Wasco	21.7%	23.6%		Wasco County	541-506-2529
Wheeler	14.4%	16.0%	Lynn Morley	Wheeler County Court	541-763-3460
Yamhill	30.2%	28.1%	Ashley Watkins	Yamhill County Solid Waste	503-434-7516
OREGON TOTALS	37.7%	39.4%			

\*\*does include certain Marion County recyclable materials burned for energy